python-musicpd.git
6 weeks agoFixed travis build dev github/dev
Kaliko Jack [Sat, 26 Oct 2019 14:32:00 +0000 (16:32 +0200)]
Fixed travis build

6 weeks agoUpdate host and port attributes when reconnecting
Kaliko Jack [Sat, 26 Oct 2019 13:51:27 +0000 (15:51 +0200)]
Update host and port attributes when reconnecting

8 months agoAdd current year in documentation copyright
Kaliko Jack [Wed, 13 Mar 2019 19:13:58 +0000 (20:13 +0100)]
Add current year in documentation copyright

Also bumped version

8 months agoReleasing v0.4.4 master github/master v0.4.4
Kaliko Jack [Wed, 13 Mar 2019 15:53:15 +0000 (16:53 +0100)]
Releasing v0.4.4

9 months agoUpdate changelog and copyright header
Kaliko Jack [Tue, 26 Feb 2019 15:35:48 +0000 (16:35 +0100)]
Update changelog and copyright header

9 months agoAdded tcp socket connection timeout
Bart Van Loon [Sat, 23 Feb 2019 09:47:18 +0000 (10:47 +0100)]
Added tcp socket connection timeout

10 months agoUpdate documentation
Kaliko Jack [Sun, 3 Feb 2019 13:29:23 +0000 (14:29 +0100)]
Update documentation

10 months agoAdd albumart command
Kaliko Jack [Sun, 3 Feb 2019 13:05:17 +0000 (14:05 +0100)]
Add albumart command

10 months agoFixed listfiles method
Kaliko Jack [Sat, 2 Feb 2019 15:17:47 +0000 (16:17 +0100)]
Fixed listfiles method

10 months agoAdd "listfiles" and "tagtypes" commands
Kaliko Jack [Sat, 2 Feb 2019 14:51:59 +0000 (15:51 +0100)]
Add "listfiles" and "tagtypes" commands

10 months agoAdd a "Library overview" section in doc
Kaliko Jack [Thu, 31 Jan 2019 14:56:42 +0000 (15:56 +0100)]
Add a "Library overview" section in doc

10 months agoautopep8 style reformatting
Kaliko Jack [Thu, 31 Jan 2019 14:47:13 +0000 (15:47 +0100)]
autopep8 style reformatting

10 months agoBump version, update copyright
Kaliko Jack [Tue, 29 Jan 2019 16:24:45 +0000 (17:24 +0100)]
Bump version, update copyright

10 months agoAdds support for partition commands
Naglis Jonaitis [Sat, 22 Dec 2018 13:16:08 +0000 (15:16 +0200)]
Adds support for partition commands

https://musicpd.org/doc/html/protocol.html#partition-commands

11 months agoFixes typo in `musicpd.MPDClient` docstring
Naglis Jonaitis [Fri, 28 Dec 2018 12:00:35 +0000 (14:00 +0200)]
Fixes typo in `musicpd.MPDClient` docstring

12 months agoReleasing v0.4.3 v0.4.3
Kaliko Jack [Sat, 17 Nov 2018 18:11:24 +0000 (19:11 +0100)]
Releasing v0.4.3

12 months agoCleanup doc setting and build
Kaliko Jack [Sat, 17 Nov 2018 18:08:20 +0000 (19:08 +0100)]
Cleanup doc setting and build

12 months agoFixed tests
Kaliko Jack [Fri, 16 Nov 2018 16:31:17 +0000 (17:31 +0100)]
Fixed tests

12 months agopassword is a command in MPD protocol...
Kaliko Jack [Fri, 16 Nov 2018 16:14:25 +0000 (17:14 +0100)]
password is a command in MPD protocol...

12 months agoMinor changes in build setup
Kaliko Jack [Fri, 16 Nov 2018 15:39:15 +0000 (16:39 +0100)]
Minor changes in build setup

12 months agoImproved documentation
Kaliko Jack [Fri, 16 Nov 2018 15:38:37 +0000 (16:38 +0100)]
Improved documentation

12 months agoRemove useless GPL license file
Kaliko Jack [Wed, 14 Nov 2018 18:26:25 +0000 (19:26 +0100)]
Remove useless GPL license file

12 months agoAdd sphinx doc (closes #3)
Kaliko Jack [Wed, 14 Nov 2018 18:22:03 +0000 (19:22 +0100)]
Add sphinx doc (closes #3)

13 months agoAdd .gitlab-ci.yml
Kaliko Jack [Thu, 1 Nov 2018 17:22:11 +0000 (18:22 +0100)]
Add .gitlab-ci.yml

13 months agoAdd suport for environment variables MPD_HOST/MPD_PORT/XDG_RUNTIME_DIR
Kaliko Jack [Thu, 1 Nov 2018 16:47:06 +0000 (17:47 +0100)]
Add suport for environment variables MPD_HOST/MPD_PORT/XDG_RUNTIME_DIR

4 years agoAdd travis
Kaliko Jack [Fri, 6 Feb 2015 22:17:19 +0000 (23:17 +0100)]
Add travis

4 years agoUse of setuptools
Kaliko Jack [Fri, 6 Feb 2015 21:26:05 +0000 (22:26 +0100)]
Use of setuptools

Update CHANGES, bump version

5 years agoReleasing v0.4.2 v0.4.2
Kaliko Jack [Sun, 23 Nov 2014 13:15:33 +0000 (14:15 +0100)]
Releasing v0.4.2

5 years agoMoved _iterator_wrapper to a decorator
Kaliko Jack [Tue, 18 Nov 2014 14:34:42 +0000 (15:34 +0100)]
Moved _iterator_wrapper to a decorator

5 years agoUpdate tests, improve test on iterating
Kaliko Jack [Tue, 18 Nov 2014 14:33:52 +0000 (15:33 +0100)]
Update tests, improve test on iterating

5 years agoAdd config command
Kaliko Jack [Mon, 17 Nov 2014 14:40:28 +0000 (15:40 +0100)]
Add config command

5 years agoUpdate commands documentation
Kaliko Jack [Mon, 17 Nov 2014 11:01:56 +0000 (12:01 +0100)]
Update commands documentation

5 years agoAdd rangeid command
Kaliko Jack [Sun, 16 Nov 2014 23:32:23 +0000 (00:32 +0100)]
Add rangeid command

5 years agoAdd addtagid and cleartagid commands (MPD 0.19)
Kaliko Jack [Sun, 16 Nov 2014 22:57:54 +0000 (23:57 +0100)]
Add addtagid and cleartagid commands (MPD 0.19)

Also add missing priority commands (prio and prioid)

5 years agoAdd mounts and neighbors commands (MPD 0.19)
Kaliko Jack [Fri, 7 Nov 2014 11:08:38 +0000 (12:08 +0100)]
Add mounts and neighbors commands (MPD 0.19)

5 years agoAdd unittest
Kaliko Jack [Fri, 20 Jun 2014 11:56:54 +0000 (13:56 +0200)]
Add unittest

5 years agoDocument range capability
Kaliko Jack [Thu, 19 Jun 2014 12:38:01 +0000 (14:38 +0200)]
Document range capability

5 years agoAllow send_noidle to cancel idle as plain noidle does
Kaliko Jack [Thu, 19 Jun 2014 11:58:05 +0000 (13:58 +0200)]
Allow send_noidle to cancel idle as plain noidle does

5 years agoFixed noidle command v0.4.1
Kaliko Jack [Tue, 17 Jun 2014 14:38:14 +0000 (16:38 +0200)]
Fixed noidle command

5 years agoDocument send_*/fetch_* and idle commands
Kaliko Jack [Tue, 17 Jun 2014 14:37:14 +0000 (16:37 +0200)]
Document send_*/fetch_* and idle commands

5 years agoAdd explicit file encoding for open in setup.py
Kaliko Jack [Sun, 19 Jan 2014 16:33:05 +0000 (17:33 +0100)]
Add explicit file encoding for open in setup.py

5 years agoAvoid potential dangerous default value [] as argument v0.4.0
Kaliko Jack [Sun, 15 Dec 2013 10:16:49 +0000 (11:16 +0100)]
Avoid potential dangerous default value [] as argument

5 years agoReleasing v0.4.0
Kaliko Jack [Sat, 18 Jan 2014 11:09:15 +0000 (12:09 +0100)]
Releasing v0.4.0

5 years agoUpates changelog
Kaliko Jack [Wed, 15 Jan 2014 08:33:59 +0000 (09:33 +0100)]
Upates changelog

5 years agoAdd range capabilities
Kaliko Jack [Tue, 14 Jan 2014 15:49:19 +0000 (16:49 +0100)]
Add range capabilities

6 years agoFixed documentation
Kaliko Jack [Fri, 15 Nov 2013 19:28:47 +0000 (20:28 +0100)]
Fixed documentation

6 years agoAdd some pylint exclusions
Kaliko Jack [Fri, 15 Nov 2013 19:15:37 +0000 (20:15 +0100)]
Add some pylint exclusions

6 years agoFixed documentation
Kaliko Jack [Fri, 15 Nov 2013 14:33:49 +0000 (15:33 +0100)]
Fixed documentation

6 years agoPreparing 0.4 release
Kaliko Jack [Tue, 12 Nov 2013 19:16:15 +0000 (20:16 +0100)]
Preparing 0.4 release

6 years agoAdd readcomments and toggleoutput commands
Kaliko Jack [Tue, 12 Nov 2013 18:43:47 +0000 (19:43 +0100)]
Add readcomments and toggleoutput commands

6 years agoFixed py_modules in setup.py
Kaliko Jack [Sun, 2 Jun 2013 13:27:28 +0000 (15:27 +0200)]
Fixed py_modules in setup.py

Mention explicitly py2 is not supported

6 years agoEase unitesting with mock
Kaliko Jack [Thu, 9 May 2013 12:26:54 +0000 (14:26 +0200)]
Ease unitesting with mock

6 years agoRenamed project mpd→musicpd v0.3.1b
Kaliko Jack [Thu, 9 May 2013 08:32:42 +0000 (10:32 +0200)]
Renamed project mpd→musicpd

6 years agoUse of hasattr instead of isinstance in disconnect
Kaliko Jack [Mon, 15 Apr 2013 19:21:14 +0000 (21:21 +0200)]
Use of hasattr instead of isinstance in disconnect

6 years agoExplicit R/W utf-8 encoded bytes to socket
Kaliko Jack [Mon, 15 Apr 2013 18:17:07 +0000 (20:17 +0200)]
Explicit R/W utf-8 encoded bytes to socket

python-mpd now deals only with unicode

6 years agoHandles better lost connections
Kaliko Jack [Mon, 15 Apr 2013 18:13:57 +0000 (20:13 +0200)]
Handles better lost connections

7 years agoUpdate changelog
Kaliko Jack [Thu, 11 Oct 2012 13:00:16 +0000 (15:00 +0200)]
Update changelog

7 years agoNew commands
Kaliko Jack [Thu, 11 Oct 2012 12:57:49 +0000 (14:57 +0200)]
New commands

* added searchadd, searchaddpl, seekcur commands
* new client to client commands

7 years agopython3 conversion
kaliko [Thu, 4 Oct 2012 15:28:45 +0000 (17:28 +0200)]
python3 conversion

Only supports python >= 3.2

8 years agosetup.py: incrementing version number to 0.3.0 python2 v0.3.0
J. Alexander Treuman [Tue, 14 Dec 2010 01:40:57 +0000 (20:40 -0500)]
setup.py: incrementing version number to 0.3.0

8 years agoREADME.txt: removing warning about iterate = True
J. Alexander Treuman [Tue, 14 Dec 2010 01:14:27 +0000 (20:14 -0500)]
README.txt: removing warning about iterate = True

Iterators are considered safe now, as all programming errors now raise an
exception instead of breaking horribly.  No need to scare people away from
it anymore.

8 years agoCHANGES.txt: adding more changes in prep for 0.3.0 release
J. Alexander Treuman [Tue, 14 Dec 2010 01:13:27 +0000 (20:13 -0500)]
CHANGES.txt: adding more changes in prep for 0.3.0 release

8 years agoREADME.txt: updating URLs
J. Alexander Treuman [Tue, 14 Dec 2010 01:06:48 +0000 (20:06 -0500)]
README.txt: updating URLs

8 years agompd.py: if command retval is None, don't require fetching
J. Alexander Treuman [Tue, 14 Dec 2010 00:47:23 +0000 (19:47 -0500)]
mpd.py: if command retval is None, don't require fetching

8 years agoadding replay_gain_mode and replay_gain_status commands
J. Alexander Treuman [Mon, 13 Dec 2010 23:11:21 +0000 (18:11 -0500)]
adding replay_gain_mode and replay_gain_status commands

8 years agompd.py: support commands with underscores
J. Alexander Treuman [Mon, 13 Dec 2010 23:04:00 +0000 (18:04 -0500)]
mpd.py: support commands with underscores

8 years agoadding mixrampdb and mixrampdelay commands
J. Alexander Treuman [Mon, 13 Dec 2010 22:53:48 +0000 (17:53 -0500)]
adding mixrampdb and mixrampdelay commands

8 years agoadding findadd and rescan commands
J. Alexander Treuman [Mon, 13 Dec 2010 22:50:29 +0000 (17:50 -0500)]
adding findadd and rescan commands

8 years agoadding decoders command
J. Alexander Treuman [Mon, 13 Dec 2010 22:47:49 +0000 (17:47 -0500)]
adding decoders command

8 years agosetup.py: updating classifiers
J. Alexander Treuman [Mon, 13 Dec 2010 22:18:27 +0000 (17:18 -0500)]
setup.py: updating classifiers

License is now LGPL, not GPL.  Also, I think it's about time we consider
python-mpd to be production-ready. ;)

8 years agodoc/commands.txt: updating args
J. Alexander Treuman [Mon, 13 Dec 2010 22:05:59 +0000 (17:05 -0500)]
doc/commands.txt: updating args

8 years agochanging license to LGPL
J. Alexander Treuman [Mon, 13 Dec 2010 21:02:29 +0000 (16:02 -0500)]
changing license to LGPL

9 years agoadding sticker commands
J. Alexander Treuman [Mon, 29 Nov 2010 19:11:19 +0000 (14:11 -0500)]
adding sticker commands

9 years agompd.py: adding support for spaces in command names
J. Alexander Treuman [Mon, 29 Nov 2010 18:51:39 +0000 (13:51 -0500)]
mpd.py: adding support for spaces in command names

9 years agompd.py: always compare self._sock to None
J. Alexander Treuman [Mon, 29 Nov 2010 02:17:24 +0000 (21:17 -0500)]
mpd.py: always compare self._sock to None

9 years agompd.py: updating _connect_tcp() with new socket code
J. Alexander Treuman [Mon, 29 Nov 2010 01:36:36 +0000 (20:36 -0500)]
mpd.py: updating _connect_tcp() with new socket code

_connect_tcp() is largely based on Python's socket.create_connection().
Previously, this code contained two bugs related to raising exceptions.

The first bug was introduced by my clumsy attempt to update the code to use
the new preferred method of raising exceptions (the same mistake was made
in the Python 3 port of the socket module).  Instead of raising
socket.error with the value of the original exception, socket.error was
raised with the original exception as the value of the new exception, thus
nesting an exception within an exception.  Python 3.1.3 fixed this by
simply re-raising the original exception.

The second bug is hit when getaddrinfo() returns an empty list.  A
socket.error is raised with a single string as its argument, instead of a
2-tuple as required by its parent class, IOError.  This bug continues to
persist in Python 3.1.3 as well as the latest svn tree.

This commit updates _connect_tcp() to be a nearly identical copy of the
Python 3.1.3 version of socket.create_connection(), except that
ConnectionError is raised when getaddrinfo() returns an empty list.

9 years agoremoving TODO.txt
J. Alexander Treuman [Thu, 15 Jul 2010 22:22:32 +0000 (18:22 -0400)]
removing TODO.txt

I maintain a separate personal TODO file for python-mpd which supercedes
this one, but it's really not fit for inclusion.

9 years agoCHANGES.txt: adding changes in prep for 0.3.0 release
J. Alexander Treuman [Thu, 15 Jul 2010 22:17:59 +0000 (18:17 -0400)]
CHANGES.txt: adding changes in prep for 0.3.0 release

9 years agompd.py: clear command list if an exception is raised
J. Alexander Treuman [Thu, 15 Jul 2010 21:52:54 +0000 (17:52 -0400)]
mpd.py: clear command list if an exception is raised

This fixes a very longstanding bug where an MPD command error would raise
an exception, but not clear the command list. This would prevent further
commands from being executed until the command list was completed, which
was impossible since the MPD command error broke out of the command list
on the server side.

9 years agompd.py: unset iterating flag if an exception is raised
J. Alexander Treuman [Thu, 15 Jul 2010 21:49:53 +0000 (17:49 -0400)]
mpd.py: unset iterating flag if an exception is raised

This fixes a bug where an MPD command error would raise an exception, but
leave the iterating flag set, preventing further commands from being
executed.

9 years agompd.py: don't allow command_list_end if already iterating
J. Alexander Treuman [Thu, 15 Jul 2010 21:27:23 +0000 (17:27 -0400)]
mpd.py: don't allow command_list_end if already iterating

9 years agompd.py: set iterating flag before returning iterator
J. Alexander Treuman [Thu, 15 Jul 2010 21:26:27 +0000 (17:26 -0400)]
mpd.py: set iterating flag before returning iterator

9 years agompd.py: check if iterating before fetching response
J. Alexander Treuman [Thu, 15 Jul 2010 21:12:53 +0000 (17:12 -0400)]
mpd.py: check if iterating before fetching response

If an iterator is currently in progress, all functions which fetch a
response (such as <cmd>() and fetch_<cmd>()) will be disabled, as well as
command lists.  This makes iterators much more reliable by preventing code
from reading a response while an iterator is trying to read another
response.  Previously this was allowed, and would corrupt the library state
by providing false responses to both the iterator and the code trying to
fetch a different response.

9 years agompd.py: remove superfluous StopIteration exceptions
J. Alexander Treuman [Thu, 15 Jul 2010 20:48:19 +0000 (16:48 -0400)]
mpd.py: remove superfluous StopIteration exceptions

9 years agoREADME.txt: give an example that actually works
J. Alexander Treuman [Thu, 15 Jul 2010 18:44:45 +0000 (14:44 -0400)]
README.txt: give an example that actually works

9 years agoupdating copyright years
J. Alexander Treuman [Thu, 15 Jul 2010 18:43:54 +0000 (14:43 -0400)]
updating copyright years

9 years agosetup.py: updating URL
J. Alexander Treuman [Thu, 15 Jul 2010 18:38:55 +0000 (14:38 -0400)]
setup.py: updating URL

9 years agompd.py: adding fileno() to export socket FD
J. Alexander Treuman [Thu, 15 Jul 2010 17:52:40 +0000 (13:52 -0400)]
mpd.py: adding fileno() to export socket FD

This allows access to the socket FD for polling if it can be written
to/read from.  This is useful with, for example, the idle command.  Simply
call send_idle(), poll the socket FD with select/poll/etc to check if it's
ready for reading, and if it is, call fetch_idle() to see what changed.
Note that select et al. call fileno() on any objects you pass to them, so
you can simply pass the MPDClient instance itself to these functions
instead of the FD returned by fileno().

9 years agompd.py: tidying up _execute()
J. Alexander Treuman [Thu, 15 Jul 2010 17:34:44 +0000 (13:34 -0400)]
mpd.py: tidying up _execute()

9 years agompd.py: adding support for asynchronous commands
J. Alexander Treuman [Thu, 15 Jul 2010 17:19:57 +0000 (13:19 -0400)]
mpd.py: adding support for asynchronous commands

send_<cmd>/fetch_<cmd> may now be used to send/fetch the command <cmd>.
fetch_<cmd> may be called multiple times to queue up various commands, but
they must be fetched in the same order they were sent.  This functionality
cannot be mixed with command lists.

10 years agompd.py: don't use has_key()
J. Alexander Treuman [Fri, 11 Sep 2009 23:22:11 +0000 (19:22 -0400)]
mpd.py: don't use has_key()

key in obj is easier to read, and even a little faster.

10 years agodoc/commands.txt: updating to match the new internal API
J. Alexander Treuman [Fri, 11 Sep 2009 23:20:50 +0000 (19:20 -0400)]
doc/commands.txt: updating to match the new internal API

10 years agompd.py: internal API cleanup
J. Alexander Treuman [Fri, 11 Sep 2009 23:15:23 +0000 (19:15 -0400)]
mpd.py: internal API cleanup

Function names should be more readable now, and the new naming scheme will
fit in better with the upcoming asynchronous API.

10 years agompd.py: raise ConnectionError if unix sockets aren't supported
J. Alexander Treuman [Wed, 10 Jun 2009 01:49:35 +0000 (21:49 -0400)]
mpd.py: raise ConnectionError if unix sockets aren't supported

10 years agopreliminary unix socket support
J. Alexander Treuman [Sun, 7 Jun 2009 19:39:38 +0000 (15:39 -0400)]
preliminary unix socket support

If the host passed to connect() starts with a "/", then a connection
attempt is made to the unix socket at the specified path.  The port
argument is currently still required, but will be ignored.  Attempting to
connect to a unix socket on Windows will raise an AttributeError (because
socket.AF_UNIX isn't defined), however this will later be changed.

10 years agoadding consume and single commands
J. Alexander Treuman [Mon, 1 Jun 2009 22:33:49 +0000 (18:33 -0400)]
adding consume and single commands

10 years agoadding idle and noidle commands
J. Alexander Treuman [Mon, 1 Jun 2009 22:16:54 +0000 (18:16 -0400)]
adding idle and noidle commands

Note that these commands aren't very usable in their current form.  idle()
blocks while waiting for events, and will thus hang if none are received.
Calling noidle() from another thread will cause idle() to return, but
python-mpd isn't considered re-entrant, so sharing instances between
threads isn't recommended.

10 years agoadding listplaylists command
J. Alexander Treuman [Mon, 1 Jun 2009 21:53:40 +0000 (17:53 -0400)]
adding listplaylists command

10 years agorearranging commands to match new protocol documentation
J. Alexander Treuman [Mon, 1 Jun 2009 16:41:30 +0000 (12:41 -0400)]
rearranging commands to match new protocol documentation

11 years agosetup.py: incrementing version number to 0.2.1 v0.2.1
J. Alexander Treuman [Mon, 30 Jun 2008 22:01:01 +0000 (18:01 -0400)]
setup.py: incrementing version number to 0.2.1